The wanderer returns.

So, I’m back. Did you miss me?

The festival went off without much of a hitch, although I have learned a very hard lesson about sleeping in cheap tents and forgetting my crutch. Having said that, it was an awful lot of fun, and I really can’t put into words how much it meant to me being able to see quite a few of my musical idols. I still haven’t quite got my voice back! And I even managed to get a tan, which I am taking full advantage of by constantly wearing short sleeves, even while the pisspoor British summer ebbs away.

I did make it to the con the following weekend (albeit, a day later than planned), but unfortunately, I arrived and then pretty much slept through the whole thing. I was aware that it might happen, but I am still very pissed off about the whole thing. Again, I didn’t take my crutch, which was all manner of stupid, but I couldn’t get it there on public transport with my luggage, and I mistakenly believed there wouldn’t be a lot of use for it. Next time I say something like that, I’d like you all to remind me that lifts break down from time to time, and usually at the single most inconvenient point in time. The desire to be able to take my car out and about is nothing short of palpable.

Healthwise, I can feel a bad spell looming very large on the horizon. I have pushed myself much too hard this summer, and while it was all for good and valuable reason, that won’t stop me having to pay the price for it. Even typing is casuing unnecessary amounts of discomfort at the moment, so you’ll forgive me if I make this missive a little on the short side.

Don’t think I’ve forgotten about you all though, because I haven’t.

~ by surprisingme on August 31, 2010.

3 Responses to “The wanderer returns.”

  1. I’m so thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy the festivals! That’s a major accomplishment for someone with CFS, so congratulations!

    I;m in the same boat as you – pushed myself too heard this summer and am now trying to recover. My kids went back to school this week, so I;m taking full advantage of the quiet house.

    Rest up!

    Sue

    • Yep, Birdie’s back to school on the 7th, after that I’m just going to dissolve into a puddle of inactivity for a bit. Not too long though, gotta get cracking on the driving lessons!

  2. I also am guilty of doing too much and paying the price. But I’m so glad you managed the festival. I couldn’t have lasted half an hour! Good luck with the driving! That’s awesome :-)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

