Introduction

Good morning, folks. Nice to see you here. This is my introduction.

This is intended to be an anonymous blog, of the kind that is so popular these days. You know, the kind that carry on quietly for a while until someone links back to them on digg, and then there a book deal and TV appearances, and all those shiny things usually out of reach to plebs like me. Well, at least I have ambition, right?

My name is Jodi*. I’m in my late 20’s, have a school age child, and live in a large city in the UK. As far as identifying information goes, that’s all you get. The value in this blog for me is the ability to express myself without any trepidation, which gets harder the more people know who you are.

Around 2 years ago, I suffered a nervous breakdown, and come out the otherside of it with symptoms of extreme fatigue, severe sleep disruption, muscle pain and weakness, intermittent depression, irritable bowels and a general sense of “something in me is broken”. After 8-9 months or so, I was tentatively diagnosed with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis, otherwise known as ME, or Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. I stopped working, and began to try to find a work around to the condition, a way to survive. This blog is my search for the answer.

To date, two other members of my family have also been diagnosed with this condition, my uncle (who I don’t have a lot of contact with) and my mother (who I speak to every day). To date, there is no reliable research to suggest ME has a hereditary link. I don’t believe in coincidences. A secondary aspect of this blog will be to explore the relationship between my mother and I as we both struggle to cope with this crippling condition.

And yet another side of the prism is my relationship with my son, who is fast approaching teenage, and how he copes with life as it’s been laid out for us. I am constantly being surprised – by my illness, my family and my reactions to what I’m going through. Hence the name. Everything is Surprising Me.

*Of course this isn’t my actual name. Use your imagination.

~ by surprisingme on March 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
