Overdoing it

Yesterday, I overdid it.

The morning (what I remember of it) was quiet. I slept on-and-off until about midday, when I was rudely awakened by the delivery man from Argos bringing my son’s new bed. I stupidly figured since it only weighed 10 kilos that I could shuffle it across the floor without hurting myself. There aren’t enough words in the English language to describe how entirely wrong I was about that. Then I went back to bed.

Woke up again around 6pm, and realised that I have a photoshoot on Sunday, and have roots so long they wouldn’t look out of place on a 400 year-old Redwood. Shit. I bleached my hair without too much fanfare, although the smell nearly drove me insane. But when it came time to rinse it out, I leaned over the bath, and stumbled. I tried again. Same thing. I couldn’t lean over to rinse it out. In the end, I had to sit on the floor with my back to the bath, leaning the shower head against the wall to rinse it out, which soaked me, the bathroom floor, and completely ruined the t-shirt I was wearing with the run-off bleach.

I then looked at my slightly orange hair, and knew that I still had to put colour in it before I could crash.

Still unable to stand with anything approximating success, I stayed on the floor, and threw all the dye in without the aid of a mirror (much less a tint brush, or any discernable skill). My arms were aching like a bitch, and the sting of over-exertion was burning in my muscles. I set the timer and lay on the bathroom floor, ruining my bathmat with purple gunk. At least it didn’t stain the lino. After a goodly while sat freezing on the bathroom floor, I dragged myself into the bath, and just sat there and let the shower run over me, until the swill of water around me was less purple. After I turned the water off, I sat for what felt like a minor ice age trying to drag myself, wet and multicoloured, out of the bath. Then I wrapped a towel around my torso and crawled on hands and knees to my bed, where I stayed until 10:30 this morning. I’m still mostly purple, and now, so is my bed, my bathroom and my hallway carpet. And people still wonder why I laugh at them when they ask how come I don’t work.

This morning, I set up a new gmail address and twitter for this blog, details on my about page. If you’ve come here from my twitterspam and you like what you see, please remember me on #followfriday!

I’m going back to bed now.

~ by surprisingme on March 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
