Happiness

Just as I was starting to wonder what today’s post would be about, I discovered that Shelli over at Living The CFS Life has nominated me for a Happiness Award! Well, it saves me from having to come up with anything original or intellectual today…!

The rules:
1.)When you have received this award you must thank the person that awarded you this in the new post.
2.) Name 10 things that make you happy
3.) Pass this award onto other bloggers and inform the winners

So, here are 10 things that make me happy. Strap yourselves in, it’s nothing short of a rollercoaster. Honest.

1. Making people laugh. I really cannot express how much I love this. If I say something funny, and other people laugh, I’ll still be laughing about it privately long after the joke has worn off in public.

2. Cooking and eating a meal with my son. It’s one of those things that most people really take for granted, isn’t it? If I’m lucky, I get to sit down with my son maybe once a week, and then it’s usually take-away, so the days I have enough energy to cook and then sit down with him and talk about his day is a really happy day. He loves my cooking. I wish I could do it for him more often.

3. Talking to my mother. Yes, you read that right. Much to the consternation of my friends, my mother and I get on rather appallingly well, almost as if we were siblings rather than mother and daughter. And before you ask, no we didn’t bond over the ME – we have been good friends since before I even left home. She’s neurotic, loud and self-righteous. I love her to pieces.

4. Music. I don’t make music, I’ve never been very good at anything other than singing, and I’m well on the way to ruining that with my disgusting nicotine habit. I have to rely on the many other talented musicians in the world to keep a flow of beautiful noises around me. Right now, I’m listening to “Don’t Tell Me That It’s Over” by Amy MacDonald for the 20th time this week, and it’s grown on me more each time I’ve heard it.

5. Frulï strawberry beer and Starbucks Victoria Sponge cupcakes. One day I will have both at the same time and I will implode from all the awesome.

6. My cat. OK, he never shuts up, he messes up my living room rug, he sits in the bath and watches me pee, and he likes to jump out on me from the bottom of my wardrobe, usually when I’m carrying a large mug of hot tea. What’s not to love?

7. A large mug of hot tea. I really am just a simple English girl at heart.

8. The internet. I think too many people take for granted just how much of a revolution the world wide web is. I remember when it wasn’t so easy to access or so full of wonderful, disturbing and hilarious things to read. Case in point: This is what the internet was invented for.

9. Fashion. You wouldn’t know it to look at me, since I am both poor and awkwardly sized, but there are few things I enjoy more than putting together a new outfit. I have a very distinct personal style – nothing I wear is by accident. It only takes one person to tell me I’m looking fabulous, and it lifts my whole week.

10. Writing. Once upon a time, I did this for a living. ME doesn’t leave much room to manoeuvre if you’re the type prone to writer’s block, so even though the only thing I feel confident writing about is ME, it still makes me happy and proud to see that the words are still there when I need them.

I’d like to pass this award on to Jody and her CFS blog, and Hidden Lives. Thanks for the contact, it means more than you’ll ever know.

~ by surprisingme on March 24, 2010.

4 Responses to “Happiness”

  1. Wonderful list! I, too, love writing, and I agree there’s nothing better than getting a big belly laugh out of someone. My dream would be to get nominated for the show What Not To Wear, but every now and then, I actually wear something cute enough to disqualify me.

    I’ll have to check out Jody and Hidden Lives.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • I used to watch What Not To Wear, but I got irritated by the fact that they never seem to think outside the box when dressing people who aren’t a “normal” size. I don’t necessarily follow the trends, I like to stand out a bit. Having purple hair helps with that!

  2. Ace list and great blog. I found you via Shelli.

Leave a Reply

 
