The Sickly Gazelle

I was never a particularly sickly child. I was jaundiced at birth, and then didn’t really get ill again until a series of recurring laryngitis infections when I was 10 or so. After that, I can pretty much count the number of times I was ill enough to require antibiotics or the like on the fingers of one… finger.

After I left home, if I got a cold or felt unwell, I would do the typically English thing; load myself up on honey and lemon and sleep it off. Until the ME struck, I hadn’t paid for a prescription my entire life. Of course, I had the usual drunken accidents (one day, I’ll post about the year in which I broke 8 bones in three incidents, all of which caused by overconsumption of alcohol and the assumption that I was basically invincible), but it was always more of an annoyance or inconvenience than anything that caused me serious issue.

So today, walking home from the GP with, literally, an armload of prescriptions (which mercifully, I still don’t have to pay for) both amused and disturbed me. Granted, this was a particularly bountiful visit – Dermol for the bedbug bites, a top up of antihistimines and painkillers, and a new sleeping tablet to try out – but the fact that I had both hands full of chemicals supposed to cure me and soothe me, when 9 times out of 10 they only make the problem worse, just made me wonder if this is what it’s going to be like for the rest of my life. Am I going to spend the next 50 years nipping back and forth to the chemist for this, that and the other? Am I going to become one of those hyperchondriac old ladies who only ever talk about sciatica and chillblains? When does the illness stop and the rest of my life begin? When do I get a break?

In other news, I had to cancel on a friend today, due to being completely useless and feeling like reheated death. And I’ve messed up a favour I was supposed to do for another couple of friends. Thus feeling distinctly like a chocolate teapot today.

And this post sucks because I’m too tired to be clever and witty. Sorry everyone.

~ by surprisingme on March 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Sickly Gazelle”

  1. Hi, surprising. I know exactly what you mean about feeling a flop in the “supportive friend” role – it ‘s part of the ME package I’m afraid. I’m adding you to my ME blogroll at http://richard-lucas.blogspot.com/. Come over and see me sometime.

    • Hey, Richard, thanks for dropping by!

      I’ve always prided myself on being a loyal and useful friend. It’s still so hard to let that go. Wish I didn’t have to, but them’s the breaks, I guess.

Leave a Reply

 
